Skip to content
April 18, 2011 / Joshua

Monday Late Night Music

I’m going to try to do a regular feature here on the blog and see how it goes. Every Monday night, I will try to share a bit of music I’ve been particularly enjoying. So without further ado, my current pick:

A couple weeks ago, I was looking on the twitter and came across a tweet about this band The Morning Benders and their recent Japan earthquake relief digital release, Japan Echo ep. I checked them out, and thought I should donate to the cause. And happily, I got a really great ep in return. Turns out the ep is mostly remixes (really great ones too) from their last full length album, Big Echo, plus a couple previously unreleased tracks. Scroll down to the end of this post to stream the ep. Then if you like what you hear, go donate what you can and download it here (All proceeds go to the Japan Society’s Earthquake Relief Fund).

So I quickly backtracked and picked up Big Echo. It too is a really great album. Some really great sounds, melodies, and vocals, often with a kind of 1960s pop/doo wop vibe that I really enjoy. The album was co-produced by Grizzly Bear’s Chris Taylor, and you can definitely hear that touch all over it.

Here’s the song “Wet Cement” from the album, followed by the Aislyn remix of the same song on the Japan Echo ep (with some truly engrossing accompanying video). Enjoy!

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. christopher bayerle / Apr 18 2011 11:54 pm

    i think i could totally dig this. mmmm…. josh, i hope you do make this a regular feature. i need someone to tell me what to listen to.

    • Joshua / Apr 20 2011 1:34 pm

      Glad you enjoyed the post. I will try to keep the fresh hits flowing each week! And thanks for the birthday wishes way back when! I hope all is well on the other side of the country.

  2. sara cannon / Apr 19 2011 8:46 am

    I agree with chris. :) Thanks for posting!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 197 other followers

