Skip to content
June 6, 2011 / Joshua

Monday Late Night Music – Ólafur Arnalds

I’d thought I pretty much knew what needed to be known about the great musical wonders Iceland has to offer, á la Sigur Rós. But until this year, I’d somehow completely missed the marvelous work of modern classical composer /multi-instrumentalist, Ólafur Arnalds. A couple months ago, I stumbled upon Arnalds’ latest album, …and they have escaped the weight of darkness, and found it to be completely gorgeous and heart-aching in a wonderful way.

He’s got quite a few good videos scattered across the youtube. I’d like to share 3 of those with you now. The first is the uniquely animated video for the track, ‘Ljósið’, from his Found Songs project in 2009 (which can be downloaded for free or purchased in physical form here): The second video is a live, in-apartment performance of the same piece. And the third is another beautifully animated video for the track, ‘Hægt, kemur ljósið’, from his latest album (notice that the last minute or so of this last piece nicely echoes the previous one). Enjoy!

8 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. KFuss / Jun 8 2011 4:54 pm

    Hey old friend, I am flying to the ham tomorrow morning and will be “vacationing” in the South until the end of the month…translation- I will be stuck in the country with my parents, please help me be somewhat social with coffee/beer/talk of the Kingwood days. :) You can reach me at my non-UAB email- kdoublefuss@gmail.com

  2. St Martin / Apr 26 2016 2:33 pm

    This piece of writing provides clear idea in support οf thee new viewers օf blogging, that аctually how tߋ do blogging ɑnd site-building.

  3. Adultwork-Vip.Com / Jan 3 2017 8:31 am

    To build your businness you’ll need to get as much
    exposure as yoou possibly can, and getting a telemarketing company can help.
    And as few the shops focus on particular genre of
    titles, this can be useful exhibiting on our Stor loctor map utilizing unique icons.
    For many clients your choice which tradesmen to decide on depends on the organisations actually related to.

  4. cars / Jan 6 2017 3:28 am

    You actually make it seem so easy together with your presentation but
    I in finding this matter to be really something which I think I might never
    understand. It seems too complicated and extremely wide for me.

    I’m taking a look ahead to your subsequent publish, I’ll try to get the hold of it!

  5. buy Kentucky Derby 2017 tickets / Jan 31 2017 10:14 pm

    The track opened up in 1875 and we’ve received lots of empirical proof to operate with, so that we can much more accurately predict
    a potential winner.

  6. www.Obat.info / Apr 9 2017 4:11 pm

    My family members every time say that I am wasting my time here at net, except I know I am getting know-how everyday by reading such pleasant content.

  7. https://www.pokerhost88.org/ / Jun 5 2017 2:32 am

    Wow, thhis piece of wriiting is nice, my sister is analyzing these kinds of things, so I am going too convewy her.

  8. Hello there, You have done an incredible job. I’ll definitely
    digg it and personally suggest to my friends. I am confident they will be benefited from
    this webb site.

Leave a comment